from the Korean Army to being published

the blog of an "ex-patriot" writer in Korea

Rejection #7: First of Round Three

with 2 comments

I’ve started my agent search once again–my third attempt after yet another major re-write. I spent my time at the coffee shop last week in sending out query after query, and early this morning, at 3:42 am, I was roused from my slumber by the annoying, tinny alert on my phone indicating that I got an e-mail. Through bleary eyes, I read my first rejection of this round.

Dear Holden,

Many thanks for querying me with THE ACCIDENTAL CITIZEN SOLDIER. This certainly sounds like an interesting premise for a memoir, but I’m sorry to say it’s not quite right for my list at this time. I appreciate your trying me though and hope you find the right home for your work very soon.

My best, [agent name]
Oh well. I’ve broken the seal for this round, and the one thing I am grateful for is that at least they replied promptly. Rejections don’t get me down; I expect to be rejected by most agents. I’ve queried somewhere between 30-40 agents so far, and there has been some interest along the way. It’s a long road ahead (I’m not even halfway there according to this article), but it’s the road I’ve chosen. And if nothing happens by the end of the year, I will probably take a detour and go the self-publishing route on this one.
2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sorry to read about the rejection, but continued good luck to you. Have you thought about going the Hollym route, or is the Korean market too small-fry for your designs?

    bighominid

    October 23, 2014 at 1:14 pm

    • I’ve actually never heard of Hollym before–I just Googled it–but I definitely want to try to get published in America before I consider the Korean market. I wrote the book with an American (or at least non-Korean) audience in mind.

      holdenbeck

      October 24, 2014 at 8:47 am


Leave a Reply

