from the Korean Army to being published

the blog of an "ex-patriot" writer in Korea

Entry #64: Update: Five Pounds and a Proposal

leave a comment »

It’s time for my monthly check-in at this blog. (I realize I should’ve named this blog something more catchy, but it’s too late to be bothered with.) Nothing remotely significant has happened to me this past month. I wonder if the static nature of my life is a result of my time in the Army, which was maddening in its static-ness. If it is, it makes sense because it was during that time that I had to discover a certain degree of zen to get through it all.

I guess one thing I can blog about is catching a cold, something that happens to me a couple of times a year and at least once to the point where I’m essentially bed-ridden. I stepped on the scale yesterday morning and found that I’ve lost roughly five pounds. I wonder if it’s because of the illness or because the illness has resulted in a ten-day period of sobriety (unless you count off-brand Nyquil and an occasional swig from my bedside flask as drinking). I stepped on the scale because I noticed that the extra padding beneath my belly button has subsided to a level where it doesn’t cause folds when I slouch, something that hasn’t not happened for at least the past three or four years. Yay, me.

I’ve been working on my book proposal for the past week. I finally sat down and starting perusing through agent websites when I realized that the book proposal I have on file was written for my previous draft and is really a sorry excuse of a proposal. Not all agents require book proposals, but apparently there are quite a few agents who require one for a memoir.

I’ve never been good at selling myself. It’s not in my nature. I don’t like putting myself out there, preferring to spend my time locked up in the confines of the chaos in my mind and in my apartment. It’s why I’m not prolific on this blog* and why I often consider closing my inactive facebook account. It’s why I’ve been dragging my feet on the agent search even though I essentially finished my manuscript at the end of the summer. The next few months are not going to be fun.

* I actually have five or six drafts of posts that are gathering electronic dust. I already know that they’ll never be published on this blog. I don’t know why. It’s a decision based on a feeling I don’t completely understand.

Leave a Reply

