from the Korean Army to being published

the blog of an "ex-patriot" writer in Korea

Random #56: An Awkward Search Query on Google

with 3 comments

Another of my friends has published a book. Marc was a co-worker at that small hakwon in Bundang I worked at when I first arrived in Korea ten years ago. An enigmatic and intelligent under-achiever, he surprised me back then by asking if I’d give him feedback on a book he was working on. This was at a point in my life when my writing was restricted to lazy blog posts on Xanga which would make any writer or grammarian throw up in his/her mouth, no capitalization whatsoever and far too many ellipses. I was awed by what he had written. The draft was incomplete, and I found myself eagerly anticipating the conclusion of the story.

I would never get the opportunity to read the last few chapters. The last time I saw him was in Ansan, where I was training for my deployment to Afghanistan. Marc, Erin, and Yuna came to visit on the weekend with pizza and chicken and a bag of books, one of which was Bukowski’s Factotum, my first encounter with now one of my favorite writers. I lost touch with everyone afterward until a year or two ago, when I was reconnected with them on Facebook.

Being anti-social and disinclined to internet communication, I didn’t contact him until he asked for feedback on his new book in a posting*. It was around the time I went to Hawaii last summer and I read the first half of the book before my flight and the rest of it over the Pacific. I sent him my feedback and didn’t hear again from him until I saw another posting on Facebook announcing that he had published the book in e-book format. I don’t know if he took any of my comments to heart and wish he had asked me to proofread it, but I can say that he’s a good storyteller. I don’t know how much e-books usually go for on Amazon but skip one beer and support an independent writer.

Boys For Sale: A Novel about Human Trafficking

51OomKp0R7L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-68,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Here’s a link to the book on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Boys-For-Sale-Trafficking-ebook/dp/B009TPTB8E

* I’m a creeper on Facebook. I post maybe once or twice a year but peruse my News Feed somewhat regularly to see what’s happening in my friends’ lives. Some days it’s my only exposure to the world outside my little bubble.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats to Marc. I’d be curious to know his sales stats.

    bighominid

    February 7, 2013 at 3:41 am

    • I’ll ask him if I ever get a chance, but I don’t know when that will be. I haven’t talked to him outside of Facebook for years.

      holdenbeck

      February 7, 2013 at 4:21 pm

  2. […] Finks, a former co-worker at the hagweon I worked at before I was sent to the Army and author of Boys For Sale, a novel about human trafficking. Apparently, $4.99 is the “international” price. I […]


Leave a Reply

