from the Korean Army to being published

the blog of an "ex-patriot" writer in Korea

Entry #52: The One Percent

with 7 comments

I’m in need of inspiration. Sweaty, furious, panting inspiration. A release for this building frustration inside of me. Revision and editing is the most important and thus most frustrating and maddening stages in the writing process. I know what I must do yet am reluctant to do it, not because I don’t think I can but because I know I must.

I’m in need of inspiration. Soft, fragrant, palpitating inspiration. A lightness of being that can lift me up out of this mire of complacency. When I look at my manuscript, all 450 pages of it, I want to think that it’s fine although I know that it’s far from what it could be.

I came close to re-discovering it about a month ago. It was an old source, almost as old as this blog, but the next day it was gone. It’s the sad truth about inspiration; it’s fleeting and fickle and if you don’t hold on tight enough, it may never come back.

I’ve decided not to make any predictions about my frequency on posting to this blog. I put in the time—even today, a day off because of Korean Thanksgiving, I’m in the coffee shop working—but effort only goes so far. Einstein said of genius that 99 percent is perspiration but that 99 percent is nothing without the last 1 percent.

Written by Young

October 1, 2012 at 6:28 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve revised and edited and revised and edited so many times. I find that now, even though I’m doing my final read through, I’m still doing light editing!

    tonyakerrigan

    October 1, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    • It’s perhaps the aspect of the process that makes me unwilling to start–there really is no end to the revision and editing. My previous draft took only three months to write whereas the revisions and edits took over a year before I decided to start all over.

      Now that you’re done with your edits, what’s next? Do you already have an agent?

      holdenbeck

      October 2, 2012 at 7:24 am

      • No. I’m fine-tuning to get it ready for beta readers so hopefully it’ll be ready to agent this month. I should actually be hearing back from an editor at a major publishing house who wanted a partial. -fingers crossed-

        tonyakerrigan

        October 2, 2012 at 8:22 am

    • Wow, good luck with that. I don’t know all of the ins and outs of dealing with agents vs. publishers but I’m sure it’s a good feeling to have a publisher want a partial.

      holdenbeck

      October 2, 2012 at 9:53 am

      • Yeah, it is…but at the same time I’m biting my nails and hoping he doesn’t reject it and at least asks for the full before he decides to toss it.

        tonyakerrigan

        October 2, 2012 at 10:24 am

  2. Good luck as you continue to wrestle with your ms. Can’t say that I envy you your current woes, but you’re so damn close to the finish line that I hope you find the inspiration and energy to push onward. En avant!

    bighominid

    October 2, 2012 at 12:20 am

    • As always, thanks for the encouragement. “Wrestle” is a good way to put it. Before every meet in high school, I’d get a bad case of butterflies and it’s kind of what I’m feeling now. I just need to get that final push onto the mat and get down to work.

      holdenbeck

      October 2, 2012 at 7:26 am


Leave a Reply

