from the Korean Army to being published

the blog of an "ex-patriot" writer in Korea

Entry #49: Rough but Complete

with 4 comments

I’ve just finished the final section of my rough draft. Vacations are usually periods of great productivity for me as long as I can get into a routine of going to the coffee shop and writing instead of drinking and sleeping off hangovers.

There is still a lot of work left to do but editing means that I’ll be doing relatively less writing in the book, which in turn means that I’ll need other outputs for writing such as posting perhaps a little more regularly.

I’ll also know which stories I’ll have to leave out or cut from the manuscript and I’ll need a place to put them, which is also one of the reasons I still maintain this blog. I haven’t written about my experience in a while and hopefully I’ll be posting some of them in the near future.

It’s nearing midnight and I’ll start editing tomorrow. Now it’s time to drink.

Written by Young

August 23, 2012 at 11:29 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats, Bukowski. And good luck as you pull the ms into greater coherence.

    Kevin Kim (@bighominid)

    August 24, 2012 at 9:40 am

    • Thanks, Kevin.

      Now that I’m done with a rough draft, I had wanted to edit over the weekend but I’ve pretty much been on a bender since I posted this entry. Now it’s time to get to work.

      holdenbeck

      August 26, 2012 at 9:15 pm

  2. What is it about writers and drinking?

    Kevin Kim (@bighominid)

    August 27, 2012 at 12:07 am

    • Predilection toward addictive behavior? Psychological instability? A tormented soul? Social ineptitude? The knowledge that I’ll be poor for the rest of my life? Thirst? I would say each play at least a part but it’s more the other way around. Writing gives my alcoholism a tiny iota of legitimacy. “Oh, it’s natural that he’s drunk again. He wants to be a writer.” The same goes for smoking.

      holdenbeck

      August 27, 2012 at 9:22 am


Leave a Reply

