from the Korean Army to being published

the blog of an "ex-patriot" writer in Korea

Entry #43: Productivity

with 2 comments

My vacations are by far the most productive times for me. I’ve been averaging eight hours a day at the coffee shop for an average of eleven pages a day. Sadly, I have to show up for work bright and early on Monday.

I’ve harbored a bit of remorse for not writing anything remotely resembling “writing” on this blog recently and, unfortunately, this trend will continue, at least until I finish with this draft. Earlier today, I was thinking about the direction the blog was taking in the second half of last year and realized that I only wrote less run-of-the-mill blog entries back then because I wasn’t focused on producing but only on editing my last draft and later organizing this current draft.

If I can manage to keep up this year’s pace, I’ll be able to finish by the end of the summer. This is huge for me because I’ve been working on this manuscript for years and if I manage to finish, I’ll be able to escape the cliché of the guy who’s perpetually working on a book but never actually finishes. 30 pages into the second half of the manuscript, I’m feeling confident.

Word count will continue to be stressful for me until I finish and get down to the painful process of cutting sections I’ve spent days, weeks, even months writing. I’m nearing 80,000 words (I’ve been basing my calculations on a 250 word per page estimate which I realize might not be entirely applicable) and hope to keep it below 120,000 words (long, even by standards for novels). At my current pace, the finished product will at least be 140,000, which is painful to think of.

Regardless, the fact that I’ve reconciled myself with the thought of mediocre blog posts may mean that I will post more. Oddly, I’ve had several people subscribe to my blog in recent months, bringing my total number of subscribers closer to ten, and for those of you who this applies to, my first thought is Thanks for reading and my second is Why?

Written by Young

April 25, 2012 at 5:36 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sometimes the daily ramblings are the best posts. 🙂

    tonyakerrigan

    April 25, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    • Thanks, Tonya. With regard to the disappointment with my posts, I don’t really consider myself a blogger. I only started this blog as a way to build readership when I was wrapping up my previous draft of this book. Now that I’ve started over, I find myself wondering why I still post to this blog.

      Anyway, it’s nice to meet another writer who is working on a first novel. I admit I’m envious that you’re in the States with access to writers’ conferences and that you’ve already finished your editing. Good luck.

      holdenbeck

      April 25, 2012 at 8:42 pm


Leave a Reply

