from the Korean Army to being published

the blog of an "ex-patriot" writer in Korea

Random #32: Flowers in May

with 2 comments

It’s been a while since my last posting. I wish I could say that I’ve been productive with the re-write but the progress has been minimal. I’ve been on a two-week break from my day job because of mid-terms and this break has been the same as every other break—an initial resolution to get some day-long loner-time at the coffee shop and soldier out a rough yet complete manuscript, followed by long days lying in bed watching movies and long nights drinking. On the last true day of vacation, today, I am filled with a sense of “What the fuck am I doing with my time?” but it doesn’t bother me so much anymore because it’s a sense I’ve gotten used to throughout my thirty-odd years. Added to my usual laziness is homework from the translation class I’m taking near Coex and the fact that I’m getting kicked out of my apartment and the persistent quest of man to get some.

It’s almost May and soon it will be June, half the year will have passed and I’m about two hundred pages behind schedule. Fortunately, warmer weather will mean that I can walk or take the bike out to the coffee shop instead of driving and being restrained by the after-6 parking restrictions in the area. With my writing bouts at the coffee shop, it’s about quantity, not quality. The longer I’m the there, the greater the chance I’ll take a break from playing Minesweeper or Freecell to get some writing done. Here’s to a more productive May.

Written by Young

April 29, 2011 at 1:47 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Me neither, says the other, I think it’s the cobblestones

    wefewgfer

    May 19, 2011 at 8:55 am

  2. Hi, I have been visiting your blog. ¡Congratulations for your work! I invite you to visit my blog about literature, philosophy and films:
    http://alvarogomezcastro.over-blog.es

    Greetings from Santa Marta, Colombia


Leave a Reply

