from the Korean Army to being published

the blog of an "ex-patriot" writer in Korea

Random #31: A New Groove and a New Setback

with 6 comments

Finally getting into the rhythm of writing the new draft. I should have a very rough first five or so pages posted on the blog in the upcoming week or two. Starting almost from scratch is a challenge, mentally and emotionally, but I’m starting to get a small groove going. Two large, ass-cheek shaped grooves at least.

One potential setback is homework from a literature translation course I’m taking on Wednesday nights. It’s only a few pages a week, which is nothing compared to the amount of material and deadlines I’ve dealt with in the past and I’m not even getting paid for it, but I enjoy literature and therefore want to do a good job, whereas I could give a rat’s ass for my translations of academic papers on climate change or regional cooperation (which, coincidentally, was my graduate major). But I’m sure I’ll revert back to half-assing my translations as time passes.

Written by Young

April 4, 2011 at 7:46 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I finished mine today at lunch and e-mailed it to the teacher, though I guess I’m going to miss the first class. Let me know how it goes.

    Joel

    April 4, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    • Working on this translation is making me regret taking the course all over again. I just finished. It’s shit. I guess I do need to get paid to be motivated.

      holdenbeck

      April 5, 2011 at 8:07 pm

  2. Soldier on!

    (Or maybe that’s the wrong thing to say…”

    Kevin Kim

    April 5, 2011 at 12:13 am

    • It’s fine. I was never as productive with my time as when I was suffering from the utter boredom and insanity of Army life.

      holdenbeck

      April 5, 2011 at 8:04 pm

  3. Whoops — that’s supposed to be a parenthesis, not a quotation mark. Ah, sausage fingers on keyboard…

    Kevin Kim

    April 5, 2011 at 12:14 am

    • And it’s okay. I’m not one to nitpick about typos unless they are my own.

      Hope everything is well with you.

      holdenbeck

      April 5, 2011 at 8:06 pm


Leave a Reply

