from the Korean Army to being published

the blog of an "ex-patriot" writer in Korea

Rejection #3: Second Dose of the Day

with 2 comments

This is the rejection that hurt the most, primarily because it was one that I thought I had a chance with. In terms of the dating analogy I’ve been using to describe my search for an agent, this was a case where I got to first base only to get shut down. After a second date, I was politely and tersely rejected. “Thanks, but I don’t see things going anywhere. Bye.”

Holden:

Thanks for sharing this memoir with us.

It’s a compelling story and well-told but we don’t think we’d be able to get a major house interested in it. It’s the nature of memoirs that they’re really tough to sell. We hope you find an agency willing to take it on.

Best of luck,
[agent’s name]

I still haven’t heard from the third of the agents I queried a month ago, but I figure it’s more of the same. Time to start querying again. It’s a rule of probabilities. The more agents I query, the greater chance I’ll have of finding one who’ll take me. I guess my story is not so appealing so it looks like I’ll have to get busy.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Man, your book looks awesome. One of a kind, so don’t be discouraged even with these rejections.

    fellow

    December 8, 2010 at 5:32 pm

  2. Hey, fellow,

    Thanks for the encouragement. I’m not too discouraged; I’ve prepared myself for at least 50 rejections and it’s a little too early for discouragement. It’s just that nobody likes a tease.

    Anyway, thanks again for taking the time to leave a comment.

    Holden

    holdenbeck

    December 8, 2010 at 7:20 pm


Leave a Reply

