from the Korean Army to being published

the blog of an "ex-patriot" writer in Korea

Random #3: Changes

leave a comment »

While my introduction is under the careful scrutiny of an editor-friend and her editor-friends, I decided to go through the blog I started during that fateful first year in Korea to look for anything I might have left out of my first draft. My conclusion? It was a giant turd that had been floating, unattended, in the toilet that is the internet for the past seven years. 

The other week, I asked my students to share one thing they would change if they could go back in time. If I could go back in time, I would go back to the me seven years ago and beat some sense into him. Thankfully, I was able to remember my password and flush that turd into oblivion. It had to be done. The stench was unbearable.

I should be thankful for the revelation, the realization that I have grown in the past seven years through the trauma of the Korean Army and life afterward. I have grown. More bitter, more pessimistic, more solitary but also more grounded, more aware, more honest. Whether the change was positive is subjective; I’m not a better man, only different. I can only conjecture that the me seven years ago would want to kick my ass as well, if he wasn’t such a coward. I guess that is one part of me that hasn’t changed much.

Written by Young

May 12, 2010 at 6:09 pm

Posted in Random

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

