from the Korean Army to being published

the blog of an "ex-patriot" writer in Korea

Entry #3: Water, Please

leave a comment »

I guess I spoke too soon. This blog is a barren, desolate wasteland, the fucking Sahara of WordPress.com. I’m my only visitor. It’s ironic in a way, how even my blog reflects reality. The Internet is supposed to a place where even the socially inept can be popular. How can you not find any friends when you have a whole world of people to connect to?

This is where the proverb “You reap what you sow” comes into play. I’m not the type of person to extend myself first. Because I’m lazy. Or maybe because I’m so damn cocky, I think that people will naturally gravitate toward me. It’s probably more the former than the latter, but my sloth is untreatable. It’s a pain in the ass, but I’m going to have to somehow force myself to network.

The truth is, I have an aversion to blogs. I don’t even like the word “blog.” Not that I’m one of those pretentious writers who still cling to their typewriters and lament the degradation of the English language. I wish. I’ve only used a typewriter a handful of times, and it’s pretty damn frustrating. I like being able to cut and paste and still have a clean sheet of paper at the end of the day. I stay away from emoticons and internet lingo but only because I can’t bring myself to do it. I love the English language like a prostitute. The other johns can do with her whatever they want, just as long as when she’s with me, she pretends to love me, too.

I don’t like to blog because my life used to revolve around it. Maybe that was the beginning of the end for me. I went cold turkey after I finished my military service, and getting back into it isn’t as easy as I had thought. I think I need to rethink my goals for this blog. 1 person. If I can get one visitor to listen to my sophomoric musings, I will consider it a personal victory.

Written by Young

April 5, 2010 at 8:38 am

Posted in Entries

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

